The Case of the Missing Moonstone (The Wollstonecraft Detective Agency, Book 1)

The Case of the Missing Moonstone (The Wollstonecraft Detective Agency, Book 1)

Jordan Stratford, Kelly Murphy

Language: English

Pages: 240

ISBN: 0385754434

Format: PDF / Kindle (mobi) / ePub


History, mystery, and science collide in a new series for middle-grade readers, perfect for fans of The Mysterious Benedict Society and Lemony Snicket!
 
Jordan Stratford imagines an alternate 1826, where Ada Lovelace (the world’s first computer programmer) and Mary Shelley (author of Frankenstein) meet as girls and form a secret detective agency!
 
Lady Ada Byron, age eleven, is a genius. Isolated, awkward and a bit rude—but a genius. Mary Godwin, age fourteen, is a romantic. Adventurous, astute, and kind, Mary is to become Ada’s first true friend. And together, the girls conspire to form the Wollstonecraft Detective Agency—a secret constabulary for the apprehension of clever criminals. Their first case involves a stolen heirloom, a false confession, and an array of fishy suspects. But it’s no match for the deductive powers and bold hearts of Ada and Mary.
 
Mystery fans will love this tween girl riff on Sherlock Holmes and John Watson. History buffs will be delighted to see all the real figures who play a role in this story and appreciate the extensive backmatter that helps separate truth from fiction. Parents and educators hoping to promote the STEM fields for girls will be thrilled to have a series where two girls use math, science, and creative analytical thinking to solve crimes. But most especially--emerging readers will love this series filled with humor, action, intrigue and wonderful artwork from Kelly Murphy.

From the Hardcover edition.

Soup for One

Go, Train, Go! (Thomas & Friends)

The Annotated Classic Fairy Tales

Thomas Gets His Own Branch Line (Thomas & Friends)

Thidwick the Big-Hearted Moose

Winter of the Ice Wizard (Magic Tree House, Book 32)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

in the house? If Peebs were no longer a tutor, would Mary be sent off to school? Could Mary and Ada still be friends? What of the Wollstonecraft Detective Agency? What was meant by “Albé” and “Shiloh”? Did Ada really have a secret sister? So many questions. Mary counted seven off the top of her head, and so many questions made her want to sit down until she realized she had already sat down on the floor without bothering to notice. It was a good floor, with broad wooden boards and an ornate rug

They were watching us outside the Verdigris mansion.” “Did they look like criminals?” asked Ada. “I don’t think so—they were very well dressed.” Ada didn’t know much about men’s fashion, and left it to Mary to decide if the men in red fezzes really were well dressed or not. Ada dared a glance out the rear carriage window as they drove off, and indeed there they were: three finely turned-out gentlemen in red fezzes. One wore a sort of lapel pin or medal that flashed a sunburst as best as it was

you pretended to be a rich friend of Havisham’s. Only you’re not rich. You just wanted to be close to the Verdigris family so that you could steal the acorn once it came out of the safe.” “At my birthday party,” said Rebecca. “Exactly,” said Ada. “Abernathy knew about the acorn’s power of mesmerism, and he used it to make Beau steal it for him. He only needed a minute alone with Beau and the necklace to make it work. Mr. Datchery, do you recall such a time?” Beau looked startled. “Well, now

became the Count of Lovelace three years later. This is why Ada is more commonly known as Ada Lovelace. She had three children—Byron, Annabella, and Ralph—and died of cancer at the age of thirty-six. She continues to inspire scientists and mathematicians to this day, and many worthwhile projects are named after her. MARY WOLLSTONECRAFT GODWIN (1797–1851) was the daughter of the famous feminist writer Mary Wollstonecraft (who died ten days after giving birth to Mary) and the political philosopher

And Ada did, and Mary marveled, until the carriage arrived to take her home to the Godwin house in Somers Town. With increasing frequency, Ada took to sitting alongside Mary while Peebs tutored. She didn’t really participate, although she did offer the occasional correction when Peebs got something wrong. When Ada did engage Peebs, it was usually to ask if he had a book on a particular subject. If he did not, he’d bring one the next morning, and she’d spend the day engrossed. Few things

Download sample

Download