All Rise for the Honorable Perry T. Cook

All Rise for the Honorable Perry T. Cook

Language: English

Pages: 400

ISBN: 0062333461

Format: PDF / Kindle (mobi) / ePub


From Leslie Connor, award-winning author of Waiting for Normal and Crunch, comes a soaring and heartfelt story about love, forgiveness, and how innocence makes us all rise up. All Rise for the Honorable Perry T. Cook is a powerful story, perfect for fans of Wonder and When You Reach Me.

Eleven-year-old Perry was born and raised by his mom at the Blue River Co-ed Correctional Facility in tiny Surprise, Nebraska. His mom is a resident on Cell Block C, and so far Warden Daugherty has made it possible for them to be together. That is, until a new district attorney discovers the truth—and Perry is removed from the facility and forced into a foster home.

When Perry moves to the “outside” world, he feels trapped. Desperate to be reunited with his mom, Perry goes on a quest for answers about her past crime. As he gets closer to the truth, he will discover that love makes people resilient no matter where they come from . . . but can he find a way to tell everyone what home truly means?

Thomas and the Treasure (Thomas & Friends)

The Berenstain Bears Blaze a Trail

Dolphins!

The Big One-Oh

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

her. “What do you say, Perry?” Miss Gina pretends to hold a camera to her eye. She clicks down with one finger and shuts one furry eyelash. “Can I, Mom?” “If the warden says you may—and if you want to do it.” She always lets me decide. I am the guy with the most freedom at Blue River. I try to deliver. chapter eleven DADS AND DAUGHTERS On Friday afternoon I come in from school and find the Blue River Common transformed. Twists of pink and white crepe paper float from the railings. Paper

So much. I want her to know what has happened. I can’t believe that I am not living at Blue River. I can’t get to her. It chokes me. In her office, the nurse checks me over. She holds my head with her strong fingers and thumbs, she tips it and tilts it. She looks up my nose then feels my nose bones. “Perry, that must have hurt!” she says. “But it’s not broken.” She positions my fingers back on my nose. “Pinch. Perfect. Now, you might have guessed it, but I can’t tape a bloody nose shut with

scooter hums in; I watch the driver in her bubblegum-pink helmet. She leans into the turn then balances her way into a parking space. Who’s that? I think to myself. But the truth is, I don’t know all the visitors. Three more cars roll in. Well, at least we are not the last to arrive. There are plenty of families that come from farther out. “Hello. Hi.” VanLeer greets people who are waiting in line with us. He nods and says, “How are you this morning?” He doesn’t get much for answers. I look all

blushed when she’d handed it over like a bouquet of flowers. “I was told this would be a big hit,” she had said. The woman had dancing eyes, a broad smile, and intriguing speckles of pale paint on her hands and forearms. How confounding that she had that arrogant thorn Thomas VanLeer for a husband! Robyn Samuels had something else: respect. Not the kind some visitors to Blue River put on like a costume when they walked through the doors. Jessica had well-honed radar when it came to knowing who

sweets to the Saturday visitors. I walk up to Mom. We skip the swing-around. She says, “Perry, what’s up? You’ve got everyone keeping six.” She sticks her chin out toward the common. “Is this about Halsey leaving?” “No. Mom, we need to get lost in Blue River today. Way away from VanLeer.” She’s confused, but she’s with me. We circle around the common and find Fo-Joe. I’ve never had to ask him for a favor this big. “Please,” I say. “Can you let us go upstairs?” I beg him. He rolls his eyes like

Download sample

Download